Difference between revisions of "When all my past days to review (Thomas Haweis)"

From ChoralWiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
m (Text replacement - "'''External websites:''' ==Orig" to "{{#ExtWeb:}} ==Orig")
m (Text replacement - "\{\{Voicing\|(.*)\|(.*)\}\}\<br\> " to "{{Voicing|$1|$2}} ")
 
(4 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 3: Line 3:
 
*{{PostedDate|2018-12-11}} {{CPDLno|52595}} [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.pdf|{{pdf}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.mid|{{mid}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.mxl|{{XML}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.mscz|{{Muse}}]]
 
*{{PostedDate|2018-12-11}} {{CPDLno|52595}} [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.pdf|{{pdf}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.mid|{{mid}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.mxl|{{XML}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.mscz|{{Muse}}]]
 
{{Editor|Barry Johnston|2018-12-11}}{{ScoreInfo|Letter|1|47}}{{Copy|Public Domain}}
 
{{Editor|Barry Johnston|2018-12-11}}{{ScoreInfo|Letter|1|47}}{{Copy|Public Domain}}
:'''Edition notes:''' Oval note edition, as written in 1791. All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.
+
:{{EdNotes|Oval note edition, as written in 1791. All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.}}
  
 
*{{PostedDate|2018-12-11}} {{CPDLno|52594}} [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.pdf|{{pdf}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.mxl|{{XML}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.mscz|{{Muse}}]]
 
*{{PostedDate|2018-12-11}} {{CPDLno|52594}} [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.pdf|{{pdf}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.mxl|{{XML}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.mscz|{{Muse}}]]
 
{{Editor|Barry Johnston|2018-12-11}}{{ScoreInfo|7 x 10 inches (landscape)|1|44}}{{Copy|Public Domain}}
 
{{Editor|Barry Johnston|2018-12-11}}{{ScoreInfo|7 x 10 inches (landscape)|1|44}}{{Copy|Public Domain}}
:'''Edition notes:''' Note shapes added (4-shape). All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.
+
:{{EdNotes|Note shapes added (4-shape). All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.}}
  
 
==General Information==
 
==General Information==
Line 14: Line 14:
 
{{Lyricist|Thomas Haweis}}
 
{{Lyricist|Thomas Haweis}}
  
{{Voicing|4|SATB}}<br>
+
{{Voicing|4|SATB}}
 
{{Genre|Sacred|}} &nbsp; {{Meter|88. 88 (L.M.)}}
 
{{Genre|Sacred|}} &nbsp; {{Meter|88. 88 (L.M.)}}
 
{{Language|English}}
 
{{Language|English}}

Latest revision as of 17:25, 14 September 2021

Music files

L E G E N D Disclaimer How to download
ICON SOURCE
Icon_pdf.gif Pdf
Icon_snd.gif Midi
MusicXML.png MusicXML
MuScor.png MuseScore
File details.gif File details
Question.gif Help
  • (Posted 2018-12-11)  CPDL #52595:         
Editor: Barry Johnston (submitted 2018-12-11).   Score information: Letter, 1 page, 47 kB   Copyright: Public Domain
Edition notes: Oval note edition, as written in 1791. All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.
  • (Posted 2018-12-11)  CPDL #52594:       
Editor: Barry Johnston (submitted 2018-12-11).   Score information: 7 x 10 inches (landscape), 1 page, 44 kB   Copyright: Public Domain
Edition notes: Note shapes added (4-shape). All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.

General Information

Title: When all my past days to review
Composer: Thomas Haweis
Lyricist: Thomas Haweis

Number of voices: 4vv   Voicing: SATB
Genre: Sacred   Meter: 88. 88 (L.M.)

Language: English
Instruments: A cappella

First published: 1791 in Carmina Christo, or Hymns to the Savior, no. 1, p. 2
Description: Haweis called this Hymn One; it has also been called Communion. Words by Thomas Haweis, with five stanzas.

External websites:

Original text and translations

English.png English text

1. When all my past days to review,
And ponder my ways I begin,
The further I search I pursue,
I trace but corruption and sin.

2. Soon as from the womb I was brought,
My race was in evil begun:
My Spirit with frowardness fraught,
And falsehood beguiled my tongue.

 

3. To manhood from youth as I grew,
My reason to passion the slave:
As custom, as fashion still drew,
I rush down the steep to the grave.

4. My conscience, that monitor true,
Remonstrates, but little avails:
The good which I would, I can't do,
The evil I would not, prevails.

 

5. Then take me, Lord, such as I am,
And make me just what I should be;
I'll take to my self all the shame,
And give all the glory to thee.