Difference between revisions of "When all my past days to review (Thomas Haweis)"

From ChoralWiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
(New work page created)
 
m (Text replacement - "\{\{Voicing\|(.*)\|(.*)\}\}\<br\> " to "{{Voicing|$1|$2}} ")
 
(15 intermediate revisions by 3 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
==Music files==
 
==Music files==
 
{{#Legend:}}
 
{{#Legend:}}
*{{PostedDate|2018-12-11}} {{CPDLno|52594}} [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.pdf|{{pdf}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.mxl|{{XML}}]]
+
*{{PostedDate|2018-12-11}} {{CPDLno|52595}} [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.pdf|{{pdf}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.mid|{{mid}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.mxl|{{XML}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791bpr.mscz|{{Muse}}]]
{{Editor|Barry Johnston|2018-12-11}}{{ScoreInfo|Unknown|1|44}}{{Copy|Public Domain}}
+
{{Editor|Barry Johnston|2018-12-11}}{{ScoreInfo|Letter|1|47}}{{Copy|Public Domain}}
:'''Edition notes:''' Note shapes added (4-shape). All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.
+
:{{EdNotes|Oval note edition, as written in 1791. All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.}}
 +
 
 +
*{{PostedDate|2018-12-11}} {{CPDLno|52594}} [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.pdf|{{pdf}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.mxl|{{XML}}]] [[Media:HaweisFirst1791a.mscz|{{Muse}}]]
 +
{{Editor|Barry Johnston|2018-12-11}}{{ScoreInfo|7 x 10 inches (landscape)|1|44}}{{Copy|Public Domain}}
 +
:{{EdNotes|Note shapes added (4-shape). All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.}}
  
 
==General Information==
 
==General Information==
'''Title:''' ''When all my past days to review''<br>
+
{{Title|''When all my past days to review''}}
 
{{Composer|Thomas Haweis}}
 
{{Composer|Thomas Haweis}}
 
{{Lyricist|Thomas Haweis}}
 
{{Lyricist|Thomas Haweis}}
  
{{Voicing|4|SATB}}<br>
+
{{Voicing|4|SATB}}
{{Genre|Sacred|Unknown}}
+
{{Genre|Sacred|}} &nbsp; {{Meter|88. 88 (L.M.)}}
 
{{Language|English}}
 
{{Language|English}}
 
{{Instruments|A cappella}}
 
{{Instruments|A cappella}}
{{Published|1791|as Hymn 1 in ''Carmina Christo'', p. 2.}}
+
{{Pub|1|1791|in ''{{NoCo|Carmina Christo, or Hymns to the Savior}}''|no=1|pg=2}}
 
+
{{Descr|Haweis called this ''Hymn One''; it has also been called ''Communion''. Words by Thomas Haweis, with five stanzas.}}
'''Description:''' Haweis called this ''Hymn One''; it has also been called ''Communion''. Words by Thomas Haweis, with five stanzas.
+
{{#ExtWeb:}}
 +
==Original text and translations==
 +
{{top}}
 +
{{Text|English|
 +
1. When all my past days to review,
 +
And ponder my ways I begin,
 +
The further I search I pursue,
 +
I trace but corruption and sin.
  
'''External websites:'''
+
2. Soon as from the womb I was brought,
 +
My race was in evil begun:
 +
My Spirit with frowardness fraught,
 +
And falsehood beguiled my tongue.}}
 +
{{mdl|3}}
 +
{{Text|Simple|
 +
3. To manhood from youth as I grew,
 +
My reason to passion the slave:
 +
As custom, as fashion still drew,
 +
I rush down the steep to the grave.
  
==Original text and translations==
+
4. My conscience, that monitor true,
{{NoText}}
+
Remonstrates, but little avails:
 +
The good which I would, I can't do,
 +
The evil I would not, prevails.}}
 +
{{mdl|3}}
 +
{{Text|Simple|
 +
5. Then take me, Lord, such as I am,
 +
And make me just what I should be;
 +
I'll take to my self all the shame,
 +
And give all the glory to thee.}}
 +
{{btm}}
  
 +
[[Category:Four-shape note editions]]
 
[[Category:Sheet music]]
 
[[Category:Sheet music]]
 
[[Category:Classical music]]
 
[[Category:Classical music]]

Latest revision as of 17:25, 14 September 2021

Music files

L E G E N D Disclaimer How to download
ICON SOURCE
Icon_pdf.gif Pdf
Icon_snd.gif Midi
MusicXML.png MusicXML
MuScor.png MuseScore
File details.gif File details
Question.gif Help
  • (Posted 2018-12-11)  CPDL #52595:         
Editor: Barry Johnston (submitted 2018-12-11).   Score information: Letter, 1 page, 47 kB   Copyright: Public Domain
Edition notes: Oval note edition, as written in 1791. All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.
  • (Posted 2018-12-11)  CPDL #52594:       
Editor: Barry Johnston (submitted 2018-12-11).   Score information: 7 x 10 inches (landscape), 1 page, 44 kB   Copyright: Public Domain
Edition notes: Note shapes added (4-shape). All five stanzas of Haweis' hymn included.

General Information

Title: When all my past days to review
Composer: Thomas Haweis
Lyricist: Thomas Haweis

Number of voices: 4vv   Voicing: SATB
Genre: Sacred   Meter: 88. 88 (L.M.)

Language: English
Instruments: A cappella

First published: 1791 in Carmina Christo, or Hymns to the Savior, no. 1, p. 2
Description: Haweis called this Hymn One; it has also been called Communion. Words by Thomas Haweis, with five stanzas.

External websites:

Original text and translations

English.png English text

1. When all my past days to review,
And ponder my ways I begin,
The further I search I pursue,
I trace but corruption and sin.

2. Soon as from the womb I was brought,
My race was in evil begun:
My Spirit with frowardness fraught,
And falsehood beguiled my tongue.

 

3. To manhood from youth as I grew,
My reason to passion the slave:
As custom, as fashion still drew,
I rush down the steep to the grave.

4. My conscience, that monitor true,
Remonstrates, but little avails:
The good which I would, I can't do,
The evil I would not, prevails.

 

5. Then take me, Lord, such as I am,
And make me just what I should be;
I'll take to my self all the shame,
And give all the glory to thee.